MLS New England Revolution

Revolution sign Teal Bunbury to a new multi-year contract

The Revolution announced Monday that striker Teal Bunbury has signed a new multi-year contract with the club, a deal that should bring the Ontario native close to 10 years of service with the Original Ten outfit.

As per club policy, terms of the deal were not disclosed. Bunbury is currently in his seventh season in Foxborough and 11th in Major League Soccer, with 272 appearances in the league between time spent with the Revolution and Sporting Kansas City, the club which originally drafted him fourth overall in 2010.

“I’ve had the pleasure to work with Teal Bunbury over the past year, and have found him to be an invaluable part of our team and organization,” Revolution Sporting Director and Head Coach Bruce Arena said in a statement. “Teal’s contributions on the field speak for themselves and he has been an important part of our team’s re-building efforts. Off the field, Teal represents the Revolution in a first-class manner and we are honored that he will remain as a member of the Revolution.”

Bunbury is currently tied for eighth all-time in New England’s scoring charts with former Rev and current Inter Miami striker Juan Agudelo on 35 goals to go along with 20 assists. With his next two goals, TB10 will move into a tie for sixth all-time with both Pat Noonan and Shalrie Joseph, the latter now a coach in the Revolution Academy.

All told, he has scored 54 goals with 27 assists, and approaches 17,000 minutes played in MLS.

This is a special moment for myself and my family. This isn’t my first time re-signing with the Revolution, but I think it’s a special time with the place the club is heading,” Bunbury said. “The Kraft family, Bruce Arena and the rest of the coaching staff have been phenomenal. It’s a place I wanted to continue to be a part of, help continue to try to be a leader, continue to work hard for this club, this organization, and the community. I’m really grateful.” 


Current Top Five — Revolution scoring

  1. Taylor Twellman — 101 goals
  2. Diego Fagundez — 52 goals
  3. Lee Nguyen — 51 goals
  4. Steve Ralston — 42 goals
  5. Joe-Max Moore — 41 goals